• About me ?

    Me

    Becky a 29 year old Brit , living in Bristol , United Kingdom

    Living in a studio flat in the centre of the city and working from home means I have one room in which I rest ,work and play . Kept company by my vegebox , laptop and a stack of recipe books . I love to cook with seasonal fresh and sometimes wild ingredients from my escapes to the countryside

    If you like what you see , have some suggestions please send me an email at girlinterruptedeating@gmail.com or leave a comment on my blog
  • Subscribe to this blog

    AddThis Feed Button
  • Flickr Photos

  • Food Blogs

  • RSS Other Food Places

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Sitemeter

  • Search

    var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www."); document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E")); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-379929-3"); pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview();

Mushroom and Chestnut Tart

Mushroom and Wild Chestnut Tart

Wild Mushroom and Chestnut Tart

The mushrooms asre funnel caps and wood mushrooms sliced and mixed with roasted chestnuts . Laid on rolled puff pastry , drizzled over with egg and a little milk and baked at 220deg for 20 minuntes.

Its terrifying when you suddenly realise how like one of your parents you might become…………..

I have always known my cooking confidence came from my mother, a woman who will ably cook a massive range of dishes all at the same time. I never knew what a ready-meal was growing up but I did no how to make tomato pasta sauce , that it was a treat to be allowed to make roux sauce m that leftover was not a dirty word but an opportunity…. From my mum I have my photographic knowledge of my fridge the myriad of food combinations buzz through my minds like database relationships … combining with the related herbs and spices..

From my dad I got the ability to develop a weird rapid all comsuming obssession with things … in order of development for him …. books…..model trains, caving ,bookbinding,stamps…. fungi ,kites … I can only imagine what would have happened if ebay had been around while he was alive .. as it is I blame him for my “Skipping devotion” ….. ( this week whiteboard and coathangers galore… from office re-development )

Most of my dads obsessions rubbed off at some point but clearly fungi is the one that is taking hold ( see my photostream … combining so well as it does with my mums cooking ability……. perfect genetic combination)
So I have signed up for classes with expert mycologist ( fungi guy) … though I have led a few walking fungi groups it is always with the cavaeat I have no idea what I am talking about and am merely giving you some good locations and walking directions (…and mostly cos I have been bullied into it )
Though mainly classroom based ( getting the ” science bit ” into my head always appeals ) learning to idenfity by official colour charts ( see below ) and learn terms like adnexed adnate sinaute , umbo, papilla………………

Fungi Colour Chart

Its also nice learning with others

The group identifying......

sharing the different things you have found … in this case many hands and eyes make very light work of a forest floor in just a few hours

I deliberately picked plenty of things I never do usually …. they scream inedible …. only to discover they are most tasty and I should have been grabbing them years ago

Identifying

I am heading back to the collecting area tommorrow and firmly expect to bump into most of the group

Leave a Reply

