• About me ?

    Me

    Becky a 29 year old Brit , living in Bristol , United Kingdom

    Living in a studio flat in the centre of the city and working from home means I have one room in which I rest ,work and play . Kept company by my vegebox , laptop and a stack of recipe books . I love to cook with seasonal fresh and sometimes wild ingredients from my escapes to the countryside

    If you like what you see , have some suggestions please send me an email at girlinterruptedeating@gmail.com or leave a comment on my blog
  • Subscribe to this blog

    AddThis Feed Button
  • Flickr Photos

  • Food Blogs

  • RSS Other Food Places

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Sitemeter

  • Search

    var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www."); document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E")); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-379929-3"); pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview();

Beefsteak Fungus with Green Beans and Horseradish

beefsteak mushroom




The woods were alive with dripping beefsteak fungus this weekend not much else though.

Beefsteak fungus -   Fistulina hepatica

Slices just like meat

beefsteak mushroom slices

I have cooked with it before sliced and fried in a pan its a strong taste and protein rush, last year I ate it with green beans and horseradish

beefsteak mushroom cooking in pan

Gathering Beefsteak and Chicken in the Woods Last year

It was a very good fungi haul


Powered by ScribeFire.

2 Responses

  1. great website junctified 😉 and WOW i really looks like it could be beef!

  2. Beefsteak fungus is one of my favourite fungi. I often find them in Richmond Park, where there are a lot of old oaks. I recently found a chicken of the woods and thought it remarkably like chicken, but not as good as beefsteak fungus.

Leave a comment