• About me ?

    Me

    Becky a 29 year old Brit , living in Bristol , United Kingdom

    Living in a studio flat in the centre of the city and working from home means I have one room in which I rest ,work and play . Kept company by my vegebox , laptop and a stack of recipe books . I love to cook with seasonal fresh and sometimes wild ingredients from my escapes to the countryside

    If you like what you see , have some suggestions please send me an email at girlinterruptedeating@gmail.com or leave a comment on my blog
  • Subscribe to this blog

    AddThis Feed Button
  • Flickr Photos

  • Food Blogs

  • RSS Other Food Places

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Sitemeter

  • Search

    var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www."); document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E")); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-379929-3"); pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview();

Blewits – Pie, Soup & Salad

Blewit Pie

Blewitts are just that “Its …. that are um blue….” in the case of the wood blewitts the underside the gills give off a beautiful lilac hue
Wood blewitt ( Lepista nuda )Blewitt

For the field Blewitts their stems are stained with what looks like blue biro, so they are sometimes called Blue Leg

Path of Field Blewitts Field Blewitt or Blue Leg

Gathered together their similarity is pretty obvious

Blewits Field and Wood

When cooked they have a more gelatinous texture than most field mushrooms ..which you can probably guess by their firm almost soapy texture …the taste however is that thrilling rushing wild mushrooms taste….. its tempting just to fry up a plate in butter and eat on toast …or wilted spinach

But you can pop them in a pie …..

Blewit Pie

Blewitt Pie Thinly slice blewitts mix with olive oil garlic red onion slices , wholegrain mustard and a slosh of white wine . Lay in dish . Cover with puff pastry and bake at 220 for 15 minutes

Blewit and Fennel Soup

Blewitt and Fennel Soup

Blewits fried in with a little garlic and some fresh fennel leaves. liquidize and add milk/cream to consistency

xxxxxxxxx

Blewit , Walnut and Spinach Salad

Blewit Salad

Blewits cooked with garlic , oil salt and pepper . Served on spinach leaves with toasted walnuts , parmesan shaving and drizzle with balsamic vinegar blogged

Enjoy

And I would love to hear your recipes

7 Responses

  1. […] out my Frying Wild Mushrooms page for further inspiration, or, even better, take a look at some of Girl Interrupted Eating’s ideas – yum yum. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest

    authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My site goes over a

    lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could
    greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to

    hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

  3. My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the

    idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on various websites for
    about a year and am worried about

    switching to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.
    net. Is

    there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into
    it? Any kind of help would be

    greatly appreciated!

  4. Can I just say what a relief to seek out someone who

    really is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet.
    You definitely know how you can convey an issue to

    gentle and make it important. More folks must learn this

    and perceive this facet of the story. I cant consider youre no more

    standard because you

    positively have the gift.

  5. I am just commenting to let you know what a outstanding experience my child
    experienced reading through your web site. She picked up
    too many details, including what it’s like to have a great

    helping mindset to get the others very easily fully grasp selected hard to do things. You truly surpassed

    people’s expected results. I appreciate you for presenting those good, healthy, revealing and in addition fun guidance on that topic to Emily.

  6. Thank you, I have recently been searching for information about this subject for a long time and yours is the best I’ve came upon till now. However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you positive in regards to the supply?|What i don’t understood is actually how you are no longer actually a lot more well-favored than you might be now. You’re very intelligent.

  7. I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours as of late, yet I never found any attention-

    grabbing article like yours. It is beautiful value sufficient for me.
    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content as you
    did, the internet will likely be a lot more helpful than ever before.

Leave a comment